Irish Senior Cup Final Preview

Holders Waringstown go into Saturday’s final having had a comfortable passage to this season’s showpiece event in Irish club cricket.

Their route to the final started back in May when Bready arrived at the Lawn in round one and were bundled out for just 70 as Waringstown cruised to a seven wicket victory.

On their travels to Eglinton in the second round the visitors bowled the home side out for 124 with three wickets apiece for Phil Eaglestone, James Hall and Cobus Pienaar. Waringstown rushed to the victory target in just 16 overs in a 10-wicket win as James Hall smashed 80 not out and James McCollum finished 39 not out.

The ¼ finals saw the Villagers away to five times Champions – North County and again bowling first Waringstown removed their opponents for just 107 as Pienaar picked up 3-31 and two wickets each for Eaglestone and Gary Kidd.
Waringstown cruised to an eight-wicket victory with James McCollum 63 not out.

Then onto the semi-final just two weeks ago against rivals Instonians at the Lawn with the visitors scoring 220 for eight with Kidd picking up (3-33) and in the reply 70 not out from Captain Lee Nelson and 74 not out from man in for Greg Thompson put their side into this Saturday’s final against Merrion who they defeated in last year’s decider at the Lawn.

Speaking ahead on the final Waringstown Captain Lee Nelson had this to say: ‘’Everyone at the club is very much looking forward to the final in Dublin this weekend.
‘’In my opinion we have played our best cricket this year in this competition and are full of confidence going into Saturday. Merrion are a top quality side littered with match winners and if we are to retain the trophy we will need to be on top of our game on the day.
‘’it’s expected that we will have a large travelling support and Clontarf is a great place to play cricket, so all being well the weather will hold up and we will have a proper day’s cricket.’’
Saturday’s game has an 11:30am start at Clontarf Cricket Club and with a large support heading to the game let’s hope they can help in some small way to another Irish Cup victory for the 1st XI

League defeat at Carrick

Carrickfergus beat Waringstown by 3 wickets
DLS par score 215 in 35 overs

Waringstown 258-8
J McCollum 34, C Pienaar 58, L Nelson 77,
A Martin 2-34, R Eagleson 4-61

Carrickfergus 218-7
P Botha 90, J Burton 30, C Pienaar 3-32
L Nelson 2-30





Having had Ballymena seconds in real trouble on Saturday at the Lawn the weather came to the visitors aid and the game was abandoned.

So the Waringstown 2nd XI moved onto Muckamore on Sunday and produced a powerful performance to remain at the top of Junior One.

Waringstown piled up 270 for five in their 40 overs with Andrew Mitchell blasting 103 not out while Aaron Wright (64) Jamie Matthews (41) added to the large total.

In reply the home side were never in the hunt as they were skittled for just 95 with Wright picking up (3-13) and Lyness Topping showing his son how it is done by taking (3-22) while Morgan picked up (2-22) in a victory margin of 175 runs.

The 3rd XI game last Saturday was postponed after the heavy overnight rain left the Gordon Playing Fields unplayable.